vulnerable path

Make yourself a stronger woman.

Everyone has a first post

1 Comment

We all have to start somewhere.  So let me just jump in.  I’ve dilly-dallied long enough.  It’s time to just do it.

I’ve had something to say for a very long time.  In fact, there are pages upon pages already written in my head, accumulating there since I graduated from college, which was 27 years ago.  But for some reason, they haven’t often made it onto paper, or into a computer file.  So I finally asked myself, “Why?”  What’s holding me back?  What am I afraid of?  So, here I am.  Finally.

I’m currently reading Brene’ Brown’s “The Gifts of Imperfection,” and it’s created the impetus for this.  Though my soul-searching has been going on for much longer.   She quotes the lyrics of a Leonard Cohen song, Anthem:  “There is a crack in everything.  That’s how the light gets in.”  It struck a chord.  As did so much of what she has written in this book.  I have plenty of cracks.  And Brene’s advice is to stop spackling them.  Stop trying to be perfect.  There is no such thing as perfect.

I interpret the quote in another way too.  Cracks are heartbreak, disappointment, failure, anxiety, stress, fear.  When we crack open from these things, we have a choice:  to grow or to whither.  I say grow.  Let the light in.  Use all that fertilizer.  That’s what’s going on here.  I hope you’ll stay with me as I begin to let the creativity flow onto the page.

One thought on “Everyone has a first post

  1. Pingback: Reflections: looking back at the path | vulnerable path

Leave a Reply

